U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

OJJDP FY 08 Victims of Child Abuse Program

Opportunity ID
Solicitation Status
Fiscal Year
Closing Date
Posting Date

The Victims of Child Abuse Act of 1990, as amended, authorizes OJJDP to support the development of multidisciplinary teams and children's advocacy centers in local communities to improve their response to child abuse. It specifically directs the creation of four Regional Children's Advocacy Centers throughout the United States to provide training and technical assistance to local communities for this purpose. This grant will allow the Midwest Regional Children's Advocacy Center (MRCAC)] to continue to increase the number of facility-based children's advocacy centers (CACs) in the midwest region. These CACs will provide coordinated and comprehensive multidisciplinary services to children and families who are victims of abuse and neglect. The Midwest Regional Children's Advocacy Center will target underserved areas in order to introduce the CAC concept and establish CACs, strengthen existing CACs and leverage resources through collaborative projects. These goals will be accomplished through development and delivery of technical assistance and training projects, and through collaborative efforts with OJJDP, the National Children's Alliance, the National Children's Advocacy Center, the other Regional Children's Advocacy Centers, state CAC organizations and individual communities. NCA/NCF


Number of Awards: 8
Total Amount Awarded: $15,764,420

Date Created: May 15, 2008