U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites always use a .gov or .mil domain. Before sharing sensitive information online, make sure you’re on a .gov or .mil site by inspecting your browser’s address (or “location”) bar.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Category 2: CAC National Subgrant Program

Award Information

Award #
Funding First Awarded
Total funding (to date)

Description of original award (Fiscal Year 2018, $9,889,799)

This program furthers the Department's mission by providing grants and cooperative agreements for support to Children's Advocacy Centers (CAC). The Victims of Child Abuse (VOCA) Support for Children's Advocacy Centers (CACs)Category 2 is a National Subgrant Program that supports subgrants for local CACs, state chapters of CACs, and multidisciplinary teams (MDTs) that provide a coordinated investigative and comprehensive response to child abuse. CACs are child-friendly facilities where law enforcement officers, child protection and victim advocacy professionals, prosecutors, mental health specialists, and medical staff work together to investigate child abuse allegations, hold offenders accountable, and help children heal from maltreatment. The program supports the following activities: 1) developing innovative funding strategies that support the provision of coordinated and comprehensive multidisciplinary services to child abuse victims and their families; 2) developing and publishing requests for proposals (RFPs), as approved by OJJDP; 3) providing training and technical assistance (TTA) to support OJJDP-approved RFPs; 4) managing a national peer review process to evaluate applications for funding; and 5) providing fiscal oversight and necessary grant award administration functions for successful award recipients in accordance with the DOJ Financial Guide.

Through this program, the National Children's Alliance (NCA) will increase the number of child victims of maltreatment receiving CAC services, with an emphasis on increasing and enhancing services in underserved areas, including rural, remote and tribal areas. With FY 2018 funds NCA will release an RFP to enhance existing CAC programs, state chapters and MDTs that improve access to, and quality of, services for abused children, including services in areas with high levels of child abuse and children's exposure to family, community and other types of violence. The RFP will also fund the development of new CAC programs, state chapters and MDTs. The program will support dedicated subgrants and TTA to CACs and MDTs serving American Indian/Alaska Native children and youth and will also support subgrants to encourage CACs to develop and utilize evidence-based treatments for child victims of trauma, to include trauma-focused cognitive behavioral therapy, parent-child interactional therapy, child and family traumatic stress intervention, and cognitive behavioral therapy for children with sexual problematic behavior.

This program furthers the Department's mission by providing grants and cooperative agreements for training and technical assistance to organizations that OJJDP designates. The Victims of Child Abuse (VOCA) Act Support for Children's Advocacy Centers Program provides support to CACs through membership and accreditation services and a variety of subgrant programs in order to enhance effective interventions in child abuse cases. The VOCA CAC National Subgrants Program funds new or existing local CAC programs, state chapters, and multidisciplinary teams through competitive subgrants. The populations to be served through this program are victims of all types of child maltreatment and their families.

The National Children's Alliance (NCA) will continue to provide targeted subgrant categories (i.e. Program Development, Program Expansion, and Tribal Expansion of CACs) to support the further expansion of CAC services into underserved areas including rural, tribal, and remote locations. These funds will also be used for existing CACs to expand services to special victim populations such as physical abuse, rural, remote and tribal communities, and children with problematic sexual behaviors.

NCA proposes to continue the success of this program by: 1) developing and implementing a national funding strategy that expands access to CAC services with emphasis on unserved and underserved areas, special populations, and all child maltreatment types, e.g. physical abuse, witness to violence and children with sexual behavior problems; 2) developing and implementing a national funding strategy for statewide projects that benefit CACs; 3) continuing to translate evidence-based treatments to broader practice by expanding the range of mental health services, beyond those primarily focused on sexual abuse, to other forms of child treatment and trauma; and 4) providing consistent high quality service delivery across the CAC network. The program has several metrics to measure progress toward these goals, e.g. children and families served, clients receiving evidence based treatments, CACs developed in underserved areas, and CACs receiving training in quality improvement. CA/NCF

Date Created: September 28, 2018