U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

Juvenile Justice and Law Enforcement After School Program

Award Information

Award #
Awardee County
Dona Ana
Congressional District
Funding First Awarded
Total funding (to date)
Original Solicitation

Description of original award (Fiscal Year 2010, $250,000)

The OJJDP FY 10 Earmarks Program furthers the Department's mission by providing grants, cooperative agreements, and other assistance authorized by the Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention Act of 1974, as amended, to organizations identified in the Conference Report to accompany the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2010 (P.L. 111-117), H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 111-366 at 702-714.

The City of Las Cruces requests funds for a two-year After-School Program to serve at-risk youth throughout the City of Las Cruces. Current services available at the project's proposed location - Safe Haven - include victim assistance, after-school programming, and access to a full-time community police officer. The community policing division of the Las Cruces Police Department is proposing three additional services for Las Cruces students ages 6-17: 1) a Mentoring Program, which expands on current services to hire one coordinator and provide 1:1 mentoring for identified at-risk youth; 2) a Truancy Prevention Program, which is a new component and will hire a Truancy Program Specialist in the District Attorney's office to provide follow-up for children with chronic truancy issues; and 3) a Case Management Program, also a new component, consisting of tutoring and homework assistance, short-term counseling, crisis intervention, and case management follow-up for one year. Performance will be measured by notes and reports from case manager, social caseworker, students and parents in the Case Management Program; school attendance records and academic performance in the Truancy Program; and by-monthly mentor reports and quarterly activity reports in the Mentoring Program.


Date Created: August 18, 2010