U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government, Department of Justice.

FY 05 OJJDP Regional Children's Advocacy Centers

Award Information

Award #
Awardee County
El Paso
Congressional District
Funding First Awarded
Total funding (to date)

Description of original award (Fiscal Year 2005, $698,563)

The Victims of Child Abuse Act of 1990, as amended, authorizes OJJDP to support the development of multidisciplinary teams and children's advocacy centers in local communities to improve their response to child abuse. It specifically directs the creation of four Regional Children's Advocacy Centers throughout the United States to provide training and technical assistance to local communities for this purpose.

This grant will allow the Western Regional Children's Advocacy Center (WRCAC)] to continue to increase the number of facility-based children's advocacy centers (CACs) in the western region. These CACs will provide coordinated and comprehensive multidisciplinary services to children and families who are victims of abuse and neglect. The Western Regional Children's Advocacy Center will target underserved areas in order to introduce the CAC concept and establish CACs, strengthen existing CACs and leverage resources through collaborative projects. These goals will be accomplished through development and delivery of technical assistance and training projects, and through collaborative efforts with OJJDP, the National Children's Alliance, the other Regional Children's Advocacy Centers, state CAC organizations and individual communities. CA/NCF

Date Created: September 19, 2005